simple gifts of work

simple gifts of work –

Summary of day 2:

  • Three AWESOME meals.
  • The start of roofing a church.
  • Sharing the Word and song on a radio broadcast out of a church.
  • VBS filled with Noah’s Ark fun!
  • Frankie shared her testimony at tonights service.
  • Relationships formed: through a soccer ball in a pick up game, through teamwork even with a language barrier to find the best way to weld the roof of a church, through a prayer on a radio show, through VBS, through a pastor praying for a team member, through a smile, through a hug, through a laugh, through the light in a child’s eye, through pushing the broken down van back to the light.

 

I am keeping tonights blog short and sweet and will be adding pictures to the post that explain today in greater detail when we return home. I simply can not express to you in words just how uplifting today has been! It started a little slow, all with the best of intentions, when trying to decide how to roof Iglesia Metodista de Mexico A.R. Jesus la Luz Verdader- but by the time we left this afternoon we had a plan and progress!

Today I was blessed by sitting in on the radio broadcast, actually I got to sing.. on the radio.. in Mexico.. how cool is that?! 🙂 Seriously though, this warmed my heart. Brother Joe shared scripture from 1 Peter 2:9-10 with those near and those tuning in from afar. For those of you reading who know me, you know I have traveled quite a bit in 2015.  I have loved taking in the way of life in the multiple cities and countries I’ve been in. The differences in work, pace of life, religion, land, color.. the list could go on for days- these things are shaping me as well the way I view life and the people I am surrounded by daily. As Brother Joe read verse 10- “At one time you were not a people, but now you are God’s people” I really started to think about the work being done outside on the roof, the work put into preparing for tonights VBS, the work the ladies of the church were doing at the time preparing our lunch, the work of those who delivered the materials, the work of the bus driver who got us here.. we are all united as God’s people today, all doing practical and simple gifts of work to glorify the king of kings.

The word of God brings people towards the light (verse 9) – We are one people (verse 10) in common work this week. The work everyone provided today to make all of our projects and activities successful was a gift for me in itself. I have already learned more about our team, the life here in Allende and of course, some new spanish from my little friends at VBS tonight!

I can not wait to see what tomorrow has in store for us!

 

with love-

Savana.

Leave a comment