#TheQuest

Day two and three of our Canada adventure and we have decided that we will call this #TheQuest.

I will start by saying, thank you Lord for Starbucks. Not because I am that “basic white girl” who needs a Mini Moca Frappuccino, but because I need to steal their wifi to blog! Our semi-sketchy hotel has REALLY sketchy wifi. So yes, you guessed it I am sitting in a Starbucks writing this as we speak.

The last two days have been filled with adventures in Winnipeg. We have explored the city downtown, the Forks area, and visited with some friends I have up here. Last night we got to go watch Morgan and Rachel play, just like I used to when I was in high school when they played at Bethel. Coach Misty and her family were there, so it was great to catch up with them as well. Rachel and Morgan’s team won, so that made the night even better. I’m so thankful for the opportunity I had to play college ball and the family I made while I was there. They will always hold a special place in my heart. 

While touring we have seen the new Human Rights Museum, walked over the river on the pedestrian bridge, seen the torch from the Pan Am games in ’99, viewed some really neat architecture, a lot of wall art on the side of buildings, there are McDonalds EVERYWHERE, saw the old railway station, walked past beautiful churches, enjoyed the colorful children’s museum, and today we relaxed with a great view on a patio deck on top of a building downtown. Pictures of all of these places can be found on my Facebook page!

The strangest thing that we have found out about being here in Winnipeg is that it doesn’t get dark until around 10:30, so when we realize we haven’t ate dinner, its somewhere around closing time for all of the restaurants, which was an issue the first two days here. But not today! Tonight’s dinner came from nothing better than “The Pony” Yep. The Pony, not to get confused with the one back home. I ordered Nachos because I am already craving Los Po (and its only day 4 of my month long adventure) little did I know, the appetizer portion would be as big as our table.

Interesting conversations from the dinner table from the most interesting combination of restaurants. A KFC/Taco Bell, ran by all Asian people: I like to call this one, Words with Jessie and Logan-

“Mice should be mouses like houses.”

“Multiple moose should be like goose and be called Meese.”

“If it’s plural and double letters in the middle it should be “-eese/-eers” at the end. Something like beers and deers.”

Things that come from Jessie Brewers mouth:

“When I was little I didn’t want to brush my teeth when my parents told me to, so to protest I brushed them with soap.. Like who was that hurting?”

Post game talk:
During the announcements of players at the stadium the commentator was having some issues with the computer. When he announced Whitney Engen’s name it popped up and said “Engine General” – so of course we took a picture of it. Jessie tweeted it to Whitney, she favorited it, so I guess she has a new nickname. We love you Engine General.

When trying to drive in a new country:

1. They don’t have lines on the road.

2. There are these crazy walls in the middle of the road here where you can’t cross the lanes of traffic.. Therefore, I have made 328462398 U-Turns already, and I’m not even sure if they are legal here. Oops.

3. When you get angry about driving through these crazy roads, things such as this are said: “Canada man, you would think we were in China with all of these walls!” -Logan

It is still early in #TheQuest, we have six days to go.. five more games, a trip to the zoo planned, and who knows what else we will get into! However, I do miss our small town already, and I’m still more than excited for Nicaragua.. But the next week should be a thrill for sure!

Leave a comment